Hello to all

paul6057

Hi all - 

I just signed up to the forum today. I'm a big barbecue fan and over the years my investment in it has got more and more. I live in London, and for the last few years, I've done a massive summer barbecue with 40 or 50 people coming. I have been using a Landmann offset smoker previously, but in the last few weeks, I bought myself a 57cm Weber Smokey Mountain, which I'm looking forward to testing out. Any tips or tricks would be appreciated, as I've never used this type of smoker before.

I love all things barbecue, but my favourite, I suspect like many others, are burnt ends and baby back ribs. Can't get enough of them!

Thanks,

Paul

• Like 3

Hi & welcome Paul... I started off a few years back getting serious with BBQ'ing, I now have about 6 of the buggers m01100.gif

Now I'm curing bacon,  smoking it and cheese from time to time. even sat a one day judges course earlier this year and I'm now a KCBS judge.....so turn back take up knitting, or some other hobby... m0127.gif.........enjoy it mate, it's great. m0114.gif

Ice.

Edited by Icefever
  • Like 3

On 11/16/2019 at 10:25 AM, Justin said:

Welcome Paul. Nice to have you here. Looking forward to an invite! I have a small wsm. One thing I advise is sand in bowl not water for long cooks.

What's the idea behind the sand rather than water? I thought the purpose of the water pan was to stop the air drying out too much so the meat doesn't dry out in turn. What does the sand do instead?