Hi all.

DeanH

How are you all? My name is Dean. I live in Somerset and I work for the ambulance service. 

I recently bought a duel fuel bbq and I want to use the charcoal grill to its full potential. I'm interested in low and slow cooking, who isn't?, but I've never tried it before. Not even sure my bbq will work. I'll add some pics if I can of the grill I have. I'm really after any advice on where to start and maybe what meats are good to start with. 

Looking forward to speaking to you all and cooking some great food. 

Dean

IMG-20200405-WA0004.jpeg

IMG-20200405-WA0008.jpeg

IMG-20200405-WA0006.jpeg

Welcome to the forum Dean, and thanks to all you guys for the great job your doing. 👍

I did have a gas bbq years back but just couldn't get the taste on the food so gave up on it...in fact it's in the shed somewhere.

When it comes to charcoal/fuel beads we are the guys to help you...what meats will you be wanting to cook?? what ideas on how to dish up??

8 hours ago, DeanH said:

I'm interested in low and slow cooking, who isn't?, but I've never tried it before. Not even sure my bbq will work.

Can't see the make of yours so not sure about it....is there anything in the paperwork about being able to dial in and set a temp and let it get on with ??

Just had a closer look I can see it's a Uniflame combo.

Ice.

Edited by Icefever

I would love to try anything low and slow. My favourite would be a brisket and ribs. I'll probably try everything including pork shoulders and chickens too. Might even attempt a leg of lamb at some point. I really enjoy what I would call American style bbq. 

Welcome to the forum DeanH and thanks to you and all your colleagues for all the sterling work you are doing at this difficult time. Never used a BBQ like that before, but I know Aldi are selling something similar at the moment, so maybe some hints and tips on how to use one like this will start appearing over the net in the coming weeks and months.

Hi Dean