Is it cured?

markie_q

How do you know when meat has cured?

I have some pork belly which has had a commercial brand cure on it. It was immediately vac packed and put in the fridge.

It's been in for 1 day per 1/2 inch +1 as recommended, but not much liquid at all seems to have been extracted. 

Is it better to leave it longer?

10 minutes ago, markie_q said:

is it a bit of a gamble?

:thumb1:  You've hit the nail on the head Mark.............our first lot we did 7 days , the second lot went to I think 10 days. This lot now is 14 days,  and I've left the other bay on going maybe mid week say  16/17 days.  I'm new to all this only on our 3rd  try so far.. If you want to,  rinse it off slap on a wire tray and back in the fridge.  Want are you going to do with it??  cut & eat or smoke.

Ice.

? can't beat a gamble!

I have another lot, slightly bigger that went in at the same time. It's ready on Wednesday (in theory). So will leave it until then.

The plan is to rinse and leave them in the fridge drying until Friday and then smoke overnight on Friday. 

How long do you smoke for? I've read 12-18 is recommended.

35 minutes ago, markie_q said:

Hi Ice,

Thanks for the picture.

It's been in for nine days so far. In theory it should have been ready yesterday. 

How will you know it's done or is it a bit of a gamble?

Mark

Hi Mark

Within reason it is not possible to over cure the bacon when dry curing. A good rule of thumb is to allow 7 days for streaky bacon and 10 days for back bacon. Even if you left both for 14 days that would not be a problem as all you are doing is giving the cure sufficient time to equilibrate throughout the meat.