Greetings from the West Midlands

Simon.W

Hello Everyone, 

Just thought i'd post here to introduce myself.  I'm an IT consultant by trade and an avid cook by hobby.  

Due to space constraints, i'm doing a lot of grilling/"sort-of-smoking" on my kettle BBQ with the aim to upgrade to a decent size offset-style smoker when the space allows (hopefully in the first part of the new year!).

I'm currently leaning towards some sort of pellet style smoker (the Yoder YS640s has really caught my eye) as they seem to blend my love of fire with my love of gadgetry, although i'm open to opinions and advice on this.

Any hint, tips and wisdom are most welcome.

Cheers,

Simon

Edited by Simon.W
Additional Info

Welcome Simon. You could stick with the kettle. It is very versatile. Have you tried minion method for smoking. There are some good methods for cold smoking on it too. 

Some put a smartfire on them too to make them really easy to dial temps I to f9r super long cooks. Personally I can easily get a 18hour cook at low twm0s with a minion method using a little knowledge. 

Lots on the forum. Here to help you with this

• Like 1

23 hours ago, hoogl said:

Hi Simon, :welcome:. I haven't used either an offset or pellet but have a look around the forum as there is some good info on both. 

Also feel free to post pics of any cooks you are doing the now. We like those 😊

I'll be sure to take some photos of the next cook - I always remember to take a photos about 30 seconds after evereything has been devoured 😁

20 hours ago, Simon said:

Hi Simon welcome to the group. Don’t worry about only using the Kettle. It’s all I use and have had some great cooks from it. 

Ol' reliable has certainly produced some good results for me 👍

14 hours ago, Icefever said:

Welcome to Simon W to the forum,  where about do you live ??..as there is a tailgate meeting for the Midlands next year, maybe you could attend??????

Ice.

I live near Worcester.  Where abouts is the tailgate meeting?