Newbie here..

Cpt Carnivor

Hi everyone,

I have been subjecting meat to fire since I was a very small boy. My Grampa, Dad, Uncle & older brother used to take me hunting, fishing & camping in the wild African bush over 45 years ago. Have had many, many 'traditional' Southern African BBQ's or Braais - with nothing more than a bit of old metal fencing propped up on rocks over white hot african hardwood, cooking Eland & Impala steaks....the stuff of dreams.

Nothing beats wood, fire, smoke & meat! ....well I guess add a few cold beers to that as well.

Have always tried to combine these when cooking, but not always practical. Moved to the UK with my family 20 years ago & although have always BBQ'd & tried to introduce smokey goodness to my meats, it's only fairly recently that I have bought a cheap & nasty electric cabinet smoker, which has actually produced many a succulent pork shoulder, ribs, chicken & also experimented loads with an old Webber kettle bbq & a smoke box in my new 4 burner Char Broil gas BBQ.

So now I have been able to splash out on a decent 'bullet smoker' -  had my eye on those offset smokers you see on American BBQ shows, but for a decent one, it would cost a fair bit & of course space is a premium. So I figured that a bullet was more efficient anyway - since the heat rises vertically - so got myself a 22" Fornetto Razzo, which I believe is supposed to be an improved copy of a ProQ (which I nearly bought instead of). Absolutely not sorry when my Razzo arrived last weekend, the thing is a beast - heavy gauge enameled body and very thick, chunky stainless steel baskets. Have done an ok brisket on it - need to learn temp control on it having been used to the cheap electric smoker. One thing I have realised though is that I had underestimated the quantity of fuel required to keep the beast satisfied....as well as messing about with the water pan...etc!