Cook4All or Big Poppas

Nathan

Hi Guys,

Im sure you guys get lots of these types of questions but i'm hopeful you kind and knowledgeable folk may be willing to assist.

I'm a newbie to smoking/proper BBQ and have been looking into the minefield that is getting my first smoker. I'd like to try it out without investing the crazy sums some of these devices cost so have limited my choices to sub £350 smokers. This selection has been further whittled to a choice between the Cook4All (which looks a bargain) or a Big Poppas UDS kit. Does any one have any experiences of these items (Favourable or negative)? I'd like to give most meats a go so will be doing a brisket and large pork butt at some point so need to understand if my selections would be big enough.

Thanks in advance

Nathan

Hi Nathan and welcome to the forum.

If you are looking to cook low and slow BBQ you are looking along the right lines with going for a bullet smoker. The options that you are considering are very similar in what you will be able to produce but a long way apart with regards to the quantity that you will be able to cook at one time and the price.

The Cook4All is an entry level bullet smoker that has a relatively small diameter and therefore a small cooking area. For the average family/friends BBQ then the Cook4All will be fine as you will be able to cook your ribs, pork, brisket etc. in sufficient quantities, however if cooking for larger numbers then you may find the cooking space limiting.

The UDS Kit on the other hand is dependent on the barrel size you buy (the barrel is not included in the price of the kit) and it will give you larger cooking areas on the top and bottom grills. You will need some simple engineering skills and patience to build the UDS using the kit - but for a lot of people the challenge is all part of the fun.