Some Advice Please

novaswift

Sorry if this is in the wrong section but as a newbie I have so many questions I could ask but I'll start with a couple. I've watched so many videos with so many different views on how to get that perfect smoke my head is spinning. The experience on here though comes across as invaluable.

I bought my first bullet smoker just before Xmas ( probably not the best time of year to start smoking with Scotlands weather). Ive done ribs twice with the 3-2-1 method and pork twice for pulled pork. The ribs turned out great both times and the pork was great the first time but the second time I had to finish off in the oven .

Roughly how many heat beads should be used in the starter for the minion? I used half a chimney and the temp seemed to overshoot to 270

When the temp is settled at the cooking temp should the bottom vents EVER be closed fully or should one always be left open slightly?

Sorry for rambling but I'd appreciate any advice thanks

NS 

Hi Nova, 

I'm just outside Glasgow so I'm aware of the Dreich weather we get. I usually don't have an issue stabilising my temp but I do use my WSM in a shelter during the Winter months. If you haven't used the smoker much yet you may find the temps are a little more unstable as you haven't built up any gunk to seal it yet. That will build over time. 

I haven't used heat bead but in my experience I find it best to use a full chimney starter for minion method especially going for 6hrs+. (in the past I had a tendency to under use charcoal chamber which meant I had to refill and flaff about) I close my bottom vents to 25% roughly but that will depend on (Weather, wind etc) I also use boiling water in the pan at all times as this is what has worked for me, other will advise sand or nothing. I managed an 18 hr pork cook last summer with no maintenance whilst I slept. 

Edited by hoogl