Cured Bacon Storage

MalcolmG

Need advice please.

I cured some bacon for 10 days which finished on Tuesday. Its been washed and left on a rack in the fridge to dry before smoking. Unfortunately I was unable to smoke it when I intended to so its still in the refrigerator. I would like to smoke it tomorrow but was wondering if its been there too long (4 days) its not wrapped. Is there a cut off time for leaving cured bacon in the fridge before smoking. Thank You folks.

• Like 1

• 1 year later...

My first go at dry cured pork belly has air dried for 24hrs and had a couple of slices off the end for taste testing. Should I now slice up the lot, portion and freeze? Its currently unwrapped in the fridge. 

Edited by Eddie

To slice, or not to slice?? ok I won't say the rest...😆...I've been curing bacon for a couple of years, to start with I would cut the slab into small sections into a size that you can use without wasting any.
From the start of this year, I've gone back to using the machine, the reason being is when a piece was taken from the freezer you have to wait until it's softened enough to use a knife.
Most times I would miss it and by the time I got around to slicing it, it would be too soft to be able to cut decent slices.
I find even straight from the fridge is not firm enough, that's why I now use the machine, count out 8 slices and vac-pack.

One point to take on board thou is unsliced will last a little longer in the fridge in a block..but ours is never around that long to survive 🤣

Also I leave the bcon (air dry) in the fridge for 48 hours.

Ice.

Good advice from Ice. The bacon will store longer in the fridge if it is uncut, but if you don't think you will eat it all over 4 weeks or so then you will need to freeze some.

Unlike @Icefever (aka "gadget man" 😁) you may not have access to slicers and vacuum packers so below is how you can achieve similar results...