New Member - North Wales

peatey

Hi, new member here. I am a keen cook but now looking to get a smokey BBQ fix. Currently looking at a 47cm WSM (hoping to purchase one soon) can anyone recommend any good books or websites that will help me on my smoking journey.

Kind Regards

Peatey

Welcome to the forum Peatey!👍😁

Project Smoke is a book by Steven Raichlen and explains some of the basics pretty well. A few recipes which is a bonus. It also gives some insight into different types of grills aswell.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Project-Smoke-Steven-Raichlen/dp/0761181865/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?crid=2NQ7W0BKHG3UJ&keywords=project+smoke&qid=1678714917&sprefix=project+%2Caps%2C1178&sr=8-1

Edited by AdamG

Hi Peatey, 

:welcome: I started with a 57cm WSM. I spent months going back and forth over which model. The 37 was far too small, the 47cm looked like a winner but I though I'm only going to buy once and I'd like to have more capacity than less so I went with the 57cm and I don't regret it at all. It's just me and my Mrs so I'll often put the body aside and use as a Kettle style, but I love the extra room when I do my Christmas smokes. I can get a whole side of Salmon on, plus room to spare. 

It depends on what you are planning to cook and for how many. I don't do big cooks often but I did do 3 Pork butts, 3kg of Mac and Cheese and 40 footlong sausages at once last year for my Dad's bowling club. 

• Like 2

Welcome, an alternative to to the WSM is a ProQ, have a Napoleon version, have the largest model, can add multiple stacks/ sections & use as a low level kettle. Another book to consider is by Meathead Goldwyn, The science of great grilling & bbq. The other source is YouTube, but easy to spend all day watching and not cooking. Look forward to you posting your first cook

• Like 1

So much great advice, thank you guys!

I am trying to do as much research as possible (maybe I just need to stop procrastinating and just buy the damn smoker :p)