Vents

frodo1977

I’m new to smoking and I bought myself a tower bullet smoker, as inexpensive and just to get going and gain experience. My problem is the bottom vent, which is situated directly underneath the bottom section in which the charcoal burns. The problem I’m having is that there is a build up of ash which blocks the vent thus not building up enough heat. The question I’m asking is would it be possible to move the vent to the side of the pan which wouldn’t get blocked with ash which would make controlling the temp easier?

• 2 weeks later...

Which Bullet smoker did you buy? How many bottom vents does it have?

I would not try moving the vent

A couple of quick suggestions to be getting on with. If you are getting that much ash try swapping to a better quality briquette/charcoal. Not all are created equal. What are you currently using?

Every half hour or so move your bottom air vent from side to side a couple of times to loosen the ash above it and let it fall through the holes. 

Checking out your link now. I'm using a cruddy barrel BBQ £80 from Argos I've been cooking jerk chicken 3x a week perfecting my cook and recipe for about a year. I'm.there now and want a offset smoker to move onto joints of meat. 

I've added a book that may interest you. 

IMG-20210818-WA0057.jpeg

1 hour ago, Wade said:

Which Bullet smoker did you buy? How many bottom vents does it have?

I would not try moving the vent

A couple of quick suggestions to be getting on with. If you are getting that much ash try swapping to a better quality briquette/charcoal. Not all are created equal. What are you currently using?

Every half hour or so move your bottom air vent from side to side a couple of times to loosen the ash above it and let it fall through the holes. 

Thanks for the link to your smoker. I've never come across Tower as I'm hell bent on a offset smoker but there is a place in my heart for a Bullet Smoker. I want several types of units by the tile I'm finished. 🤣