Hello from Bristol

Karen hensman

Hello!

I thought I should introduce myself and say hello.  I am pretty new to this BBQ malarkey.  I found out about this forum from a card in my Smokewood shack delivery and it seems a good source of UK based information. 

I bought a 47 WSM for my partner as a gift earlier this year because we both love pulled pork and brisket but after his first attempt I quickly realised that he simply doesn't have the patience for it (constantly lifting the lid and I even caught him stirring the coals to try and speed things along !! ?).  So I have assumed control of the WSM and he is no longer allowed to touch it.  I've done a few runs now, mainly pork shoulder and pork belly burnt ends and I'm doing my first spare ribs this weekend.  It seems fairly straightforward so far, provided I can keep the other half away until its cooked, but I am assuming there is a load of football on this weekend which will help ?.  Everyone is commenting on how great the food is so that is a good sign I think (maybe they are just easily pleased because its better than the normal run of the mill burnt sausages and cremated burgers).  I've signed up to a Weber Academy American BBQ course in August which I'm hoping will give me confidence to try new things.  The hardest thing I'm finding is knowing what to ask the butcher for.  I've found a friendly one but I think I amuse him with not knowing the answers to some of his questions and not really knowing what I want just yet.  I'm sure it will get easier the more I do it.

Well I look forward to getting to know you all.  It looks like a good weekend ahead for BBQ on the BBC weather app. ?

Bring it on!

Hi Karen, welcome to the Forum.

There is a saying, “If Your Looking, Your Not Cooking”

30DB9734-BCE1-4C07-8BB1-A4C8644A7B9A.thumb.png.ee30d396edb0e1ccb2e819596c4fb697.png