Advice needed on first low and slow on Kamado...

Kentish Man

I've got a half lamb shoulder in the freezer that I'm going to stick on the kamado later this week. I forget it's exact weight, but it's around 1kg, so relatively small, and bone in.

I thought this would be a good one to test my skills at keeping the temp down on the Kamado given I'm new to it, and given the weight, I guess should only take 4 - 6 hours or so?

The advice i'm after is as follows......(but all advice welcome):

1) How long should I allow for the meat to cook? It'll be for the family dinner, so 6pm ish. Stick it on mid-morning to give plenty of time? Better to have extra resting time than it not hit temp in time?

2) I've seen on various websites the technique of wrapping the meat in foil after a set period of time to avoid the meat drying out. Is that something I should do? Any basting required, or just stick it in and leave it?!

3) I'm planning to go for around 110c - 120c depending on my ability to control the temp!! Does that sound about right? I'll place the meat on the rack with a drip tray below on the heat deflector. Aiming for an internal temp of 95c.

I know there's going to be plenty of lessons along the way as I learn how to get the best out of the Kamado, and I'm looking forward to them, but want to make sure I'm at least starting with a technique that is capable of delivering a decent feed even if I can't execute it first time of asking! 

Thanks in advance

Simon (Kentish Man) 

not done lamb myself yet so I look forward to the pics😋 

Preheat your racks and drip trays while you bring it upto temp to avoid chasing temps (I personally find it easier this way). I usually put my racks etc in once my dome thermometer needle gets to the minimum reading (mine is 150F).