Hi

Reesyd

Hi All from Westest Wales.

Thought Id been BBQing for years until recently. Realise now there's loads to learn after getting a Weber 57" kettle and searching around on youtube. Tried a Weber cooking course and then managed a turkey at Christmas on rottisserie, a beef rib and then a cardinal sin...food poisoning from grilling after tooooo much alcohol!

In the throws now of deciding whether to get a Smokey Mountain or Adrenaline BBQ Company Slow n Sear. Any advice would be appreciated.

Cheers, Reesyd

Hi Reesyd and welcome to the forum

The Weber 57cm is a great all-rounder and I have been cooking on them for almost 20 years. Great for hot and low-and-slow roasting as well as grilling and also cold smoking. Cooking the Christmas turkey on the BBQ is a scary step to take the first time - but when you realise just how good it tastes you never want to go back to oven cooking it again :5980a344e6cd3_ThumbsUp:

The food poisoning was not such a good experience I bet ! What was it that you were grilling? The likelihood of getting food poisoning is as much about how well the meat was handled up to the point of cooking as it is with the cooking itself. Have you bought yourself an instant read food thermometer now so that you can check the internal temperatures of the meat as it is being grilled. It helps prevent both under cooking - and just as important prevents over cooking. Some have nice large displays that can be easily seen after consuming alcohol - LOL