Air aged bacon - mold

YoungTom

Hi all.  I’ve been curing and smoking for my own use for a few years, mostly bacon, with good success.

I usually use  curing salts from a supplier (Surfeys) as I find the natural methods of River Cottage a little salty for my taste.

Recently I have been air drying my bacon outside in a converted steel cabinet with flyproof mesh panels added.

But ..... for the first time since I started doing this I went to get the bacon prior to cold smoking it (it had been there about 20 days) and I noticed mold!
I’ve never had this before, so would appreciate some advice.

There were small white specs on the meat and in one place a small patch of something a little more furry (white in colour).

I wiped it with all down with white vinegar and am smoking as I type.

the other piece, kept in the fridge, was fine.

So, should I be worried?

any advice gratefully received.

1 minute ago, YoungTom said:

Hi all.  I’ve been curing and smoking for my own use for a few years, mostly bacon, with good success.

I usually use  curing salts from a supplier (Surfeys) as I find the natural methods of River Cottage a little salty for my taste.

Recently I have been air drying my bacon outside in a converted steel cabinet with flyproof mesh panels added.

But ..... for the first time since I started doing this I went to get the bacon prior to cold smoking it (it had been there about 20 days) and I noticed mold!

There were small white specs on the meat and in one place a small patch of something a little more furry (white in colour).

So, should I be worried?

97559851-1537-4CEF-AA43-A23E602E884A.jpeg

F79D535F-911F-463C-90A1-E8B2AC980AFF.jpeg

Hi Young Tom and welcome to the forum

Surfeys (sausagemaking.org) is a good supplier for cure. I also agree that the celebrity curing methods usually produce a bacon that is way too salty.

A couple of questions regarding your bacon.