Bacon advice required

Chae

Hi! I'm quite new to curing bacon and gone for my second attempt this year (last years lot had to go out - it was so salty it could pickle an elephant!). I've been doing all the research and got my bacon cured and in the fridge (one for 5 days, one for 7 as they were different thicknesses), dried it a little for a day or two in the fridge, smoked it, and put it back in the fridge. The problem is the only thing I wasn't keeping an eye on was the fridge... it turns out it's been bad and been sitting anything between 1c and 7c this whole time (it seems to go up and down - it's an old second hand fridge). I'm reading that it should be kept at a constant 4c for when it's curing so I'm assuming because I don't know what my temperatures were doing at that time I just have to bin it?

It still looks fine and doesn't smell bad, and I did have a taste before I smoked it and there was nothing untoward with it, but I wanted to check and see before I throw it out and buy a new fridge. Any advice would be welcome! Thanks! :)

Thanks Smokin Monkey - even for the curing at the start? I keep reading that it needs to be below 4'C and keep panicking! It has quite a high sugar content as I added treacle to one and maple to the other.

Definitely going to bin that fridge, I think I'm more gutted if I lose the bacon! 😂 I was really looking forward to trying it!

Edited by Chae

1 hour ago, Wade said:

Let us know the recipe you used and we can help you adjust it so that you do not have the same problem next time. If you were using a cure mix then let us know which one it was.

Cheers, Wade 

Hi Wade

I had 2 x 1kg pork belly and used 27.5g salt, 2.5g Prague powder #1, some black pepper, 20g brown sugar on each - and 2tbsp treacle on one, 2tbsp maple syrup on the other. 
Thanks for taking a look! Like I said, I’m a total rookie with cold smoking and just want to check
Chae

Edited by Chae

10 minutes ago, Chae said:

Hi Wade